Top 20 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One

96 / 100

A world without books, where the world is too commercialized and Ready player one is one of the best science fiction novels from the past decade.

It is a debut novel of American author earnest cline. The book has been translated into over 20 languages. The storyline of the book is set in the year 2045 in dystopia.

A guy named Wade Watts who is a gamer. He plays a virtual reality game to search for an Easter Egg which will help him claim the fortune of the creator of this game. 

The science fiction novel about a virtual reality game in the dystopian future is even set for a 2018 movie adaptation directed by Steven Spielberg. 

20 Incridible Entertaining Books Like Ready Player One

we’ve compiled a list of 20 similar books like ready player one that is sure to keep your mind to read, there’s something for everyone on this list

Read every book you can find about virtual reality and gaming. If you’ve read Ready Player One and are looking for books like it, check out these titles.

Also Read: Top 15 Amazing Reading Apps For Kids


1. Scott Pilgrim Vol. 1: Precious Little Life (Volume 1)

Scott Pilgrim Vol. 1: Precious Little Life (Volume 1) Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Scott Pilgrim Vol. 1: Precious Little Life (Volume 1)

“Scott Pilgrim is dating a high schooler!” – so begins one of the finest comics sagas of all time.

It’s comedy romance books like ready player one mixed in with a Shonen Jump-style fight manga but the comic transcends the sum of its parts.

O’Malley’s dialogue perfectly captures how young people in their late teens/early twenties talk albeit making them all very entertaining conversationalists.

The story seems like no great shakes: 23 year old Scott is dating 17 year old Knives Chau, the aforementioned high schooler, (nothing funny, just holding hands), and then he meets Ramona Flowers, his literal dream girl whom he falls hard for.

Just one catch: he’s gotta fight her 7 evil exes. And of course break up with poor unsuspecting Knives!

Available At


2. The Yield: A Novel

The Yield: A Novel Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
The Yield: A Novel

This is the book that’s set over three different timelines and perspectives and the perspective kind of alternate as we progress through.

The narrative in one of the timelines the contemporary one that we’re principally following, we’re following the present in the perspective of August Gondiwindi.

So August is a young indigenous women and she has been living and working in the UK and she’s come back to Australia back to her community when her grandfather has passed away and that kind of coincides with a native tittle land rights disputes that her family are having with a tin company.

They want to mine the property so there’s a whole raft of different things that kind of collide in the plot sense within her timeline.

This is amazing books like ready player one.

Available At


3. The Martian: Stranded on Mars, one astronaut fights to survive

The Martian: Stranded on Mars, one astronaut fights to survive Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
The Martian: Stranded on Mars, one astronaut fights to survive

The Martian by Andy weir is a excellent science fiction story book like ready player one that focus on the extreme of Sci-fi like lot of modern Sci-fi does it folks is more on the much more grounded and realistic aspects of the genre.

Which makes it refreshing because we’re being drowned in books that are all about extremes.

Available At


4. Dragonfly in Amber: A Novel (Outlander)

 Dragonfly in Amber: A Novel (Outlander) Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Dragonfly in Amber: A Novel (Outlander)

It was such a fun read books like ready player one.

The story of Claire Randall who has spent the last 20 years with her husband frank Claire returns to Scotland with her daughter Briana with the intense on explaining Briana’s heritage and revealing her true father Jamie Fresher who Claire had to leave behind what follow’s Claire’s emotional journey of being in the french courts with the pretender to the English throne Charles start in a race to save the highlands from an uprising that would cause major causalities.

Available At


5. 32 Candles: A Novel

32 Candles: A Novel  Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
32 Candles: A Novel

Absolutely Amazing books like ready player one.

This book was very hard to put down. The story is broken down into Then, Now and the In between sections.

At times sad, at times funny, but all the time engaging and well written.

The main characters of this book is obsessed with john huges film and she loves sixteen candles so it’s called 32 candles and it is very much interesting.

It is about this girl named Evie and it follows her pretty much throughout her life we start out with her as a young girl and she hasn’t troubled home leave her mom kind of abusive her mom is an alohotic she stops talking as a kid and she literally says not a word to anyone throughout her entire adolescence.

David Jones has a rough life. She yearns for more as she grows up Mississippi. All she wants is to have her “Molly Ring world” happy ending.

Available At


6. Dune

Dune  Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Dune

What an amazing story books like ready player one.

Dune is all about the political and religious games played by it’s characters and a lot of hidden meanings, and clever interplay between well developed characters.

 This “Dune” book is full of depth, multiple semantics and even modern day ecological themes or earth trends and politics.

Available At


7. Ender’s Game (The Ender Quintet) 

Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet)  Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Ender’s Game (The Ender Quintet) 

Ender’s Game is a interesting books like ready player one.

It’s a military novel, slightly dark. Deals a lot with manipulation, abuse and isolation as Ender tries to find a way to fit into the new reality. 

Is it about a little boy attending a military school? Is it an explanation of the necessity of war?

Is it about the underlying cause for such wars in the first place? Or is it about the lie hiding the truth that lies at the root of every game?

Available At


8. The Heart’s Invisible Furies

The Heart's Invisible Furies  Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
The Heart’s Invisible Furies

The Heart’s Invisible Furies is a masterpiece.

It is essentially the life story of Cyril Avery from conception to old age.

He is a gay man born into an extremely conservative Ireland and his personal experiences are set to the backdrop of two harrowing histories – the modern history of Ireland, the IRA and terrorist bombings, and the long, difficult history of LGBT rights.

It is rife with the sexism and homophobia typical of the era.

The story moves from the postwar period, showing an Ireland that is almost theocratic in its obsession with the church, to the more liberal 1980s in Amsterdam, to New York City in the middle of the AIDs crisis, and back to a more modern Ireland that is moving towards the legalization of gay marriage.

Available At


9. A Gentleman in Moscow: The worldwide

A Gentleman in Moscow: The worldwide  Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
A Gentleman in Moscow: The worldwide

A Gentleman in Moscow tells us the story of Count Alexander Rostov who has been put under house arrest (apparently Hotel arrest) during the Bolshevik revolution.

Imagine, your grand life is now reduced to living in a small hotel room and spending your entire life within the confines of the building.

Count Rostov’s life had turned this monotonous. Not giving up on life, Rostov starts bringing value to his life while getting to know various people and one person who would ultimately change his life.

Available At

10. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck  Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Hard Luck

WIMPY KID and this books like ready player one is really -really awesomme!!!

 Rowley gets a girlfriend so Greg is left all by himself and so he tries to find new friends- which is proven tough for someone in middle school!

So the book revolves around Greg struggling to find new friends when his only friend is ignoring him. And also making other decisions based on luck!I

A funny books like ready player one for all kids

Available At


11. The Bear and the Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy)

The Bear and the Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy)   Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
The Bear and the Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy)

The story unfolds slowly, with layers that gradually reveal themselves.

It is a story about the clash of two cultures and belief systems, a story of the confined lives of women at the time and a girl who doesn’t conform, a story of family ties and the daily struggles of a harsh way of life, and of course it is a story of magic.

All these themes are wonderfully entwined together, with characters that resonate from the pages, even the more secondary ones such as Vasya’s brother Sasha.

The Bear and The Nightingale tells the story of Vasya, a young girl growing up in a remote village in Northern Russia, on the edge of the wilderness.

Her nanny, Dunya, tells magical stories to the whole family around a blazing oven, stories of frost-demons and other spirits; though for Vasya, these are more than just stories, for she is gifted with the Sight.

However, when Vasya’s father remarries and brings her new step-mother Anna home, life begins to change for Vasya; and the arrival of a new priest in the village signals further change, but worse still a rising threat of danger.

A danger that it seems only Vasya can save them all from.

Available At


12. My Best Friend’s Exorcism: A Novel

My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
My Best Friend’s Exorcism: A Novel

This is a tremendous story books like ready player one.

 It tells the story well and it’s an easy read, it feels like an 80’s horror comedy. The horror element takes back seat to the story of friendship,

Set in the 1980s we follow a group of girls on a wild night out…where one gets possessed by a devil.

Available At


13. Fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451 Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Fahrenheit 451

The protagonist of this books like ready player one is Montag, who is a fireman. However, unlike today’s fireman, his work is to burn down the books.

Montag and his team under the direction of Beatty have burned many books.

One day, they burned a woman with her books and this shook Montag and provoked a thought in his mind that why she didn’t leave her books?

Why does she choose to die? There must be something in the book and he manages to get some books from there.

Available At


14. Agent to the Stars

Agent to the Stars Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Agent to the Stars

Tom Stein is a nice young Hollywood agent when his boss pulls him into a private meeting and lays a bombshell on him: the Yherajk, an alien race that has come to Earth to make first contact, needs representation.

They’ve been watching our TV broadcasts for years, so they know what humans think of aliens, especially aliens who are amorphous blobs of bad-smelling goop who can, incidentally, insert tendrils into your brain and take over your body.

So instead of landing on the White House lawn, they’ve decided that Hollywood, the true center of Earth’s global media, should handle presenting the Yherajk to humanity.

This was John Scalzi’s debut novel.

Available At


15. Heir Apparent

Heir Apparent Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Heir Apparent

This is a great book and a fun read! books like ready player one.

This book has great characters.

It was very entertaining… It’s about a girl that plays a virtual-reality game which literally puts her into the game, in it you can feel pain, smell, etc…when your killed, you just feel woozy and the game restarts over.

The Game is called Heir Apparent… the point of the game is to be crowned the heir of the kingdom… but first survive your enemies and to choose your allies wisely.

While she is playing the first level for the first time… some ppl(those that oppose games etc.. thinking it’s bad for childern) barge into the arcade and mess around with the gaming systems, which includes messing up the Heir Apparent game.

So the girl is stuck there playing for quite a long time… to get out of the game she must win it.. 

Available At


16. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time

A bittersweet story of a boy with Asperges syndrome and how he gets on a journey of a lifetime.

It is not a story about aspergers but a story of seeing the world through the eyes of a young man who happens to have aspergers. The main character is honest and engaging.

The language is simple as the story is told by the boy himself. The narrative style is logical with actual puzzles and mathematical problems as these are the boy’s interests.

Very realistic and beautiful books like ready player one .

Available At


17. Gemina (The Illuminae Files)

Gemina: The Illuminae Files: Book 2 (Illuminae Files 2) Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Gemina (The Illuminae Files)

What a fantastic novel books like ready player one.

The formatting of book two was a slight cut above book one, with the most fantastic illustrations by Marie Lu. As with ILLUMINAE, the use of digital dialogue, pictures, unusual and creative illustrations enhanced the reading experience. Of course, the words and story itself are what truly makes the book.

GEMINA immediately plunges you into your previous knowledge of the Hypatia, Kerenza and uses this to launch a new story focusing around Jump Station Heimdall.

Heimdall is the residence of the Commander’s daughter and ‘princess’ Hanna. This entitled prima dona is not stuck up and events cause Hanna to become a fighter outside of the dojo.

Her old school buddy Nik, of crime family House of Knives is both her adversary and admirer but Hanna already has a love and romance in Jax who is a young officer in her father’s command.

What ensues is corruption, attack and larvae. Yes, I did say larvae and believe me, a significant portion of buddy chat was used to debrief on the larvae.

The character development in GEMINA was superb and there were some strong secondary characters that wowed

Available At


18. Nyxia: The Nyxia Triad

Nyxia: The Nyxia Triad Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Nyxia: The Nyxia Triad

This book was a lot like Red Rising by Pierce Brown, and a lot different from it too. A really good sci-fi novel with a lot of potential for exploring.

Amazing book, great story, a powerful books like ready player one.

Available At


19. The Light Between Oceans: The heartrending Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy pick

The Light Between Oceans: The heartrending Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy pick  Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
The Light Between Oceans: The heartrending Sunday Times bestseller and Richard and Judy pick

This book will create a huge impact on your life its just not a novel its a journey. Its about the pain of letting go.

The Light Between Oceans is an incredibly moving novel about what happens when good people make bad decisions.

The story takes place in the town of Point Partageuse, Australia during the 1920s. The story begins when a light house keeper and his wife find a life boat containing a live baby (and dead man) on the shore of their isolated island.

Through a mixture of misplaced intentions and unsupported superstition they decide to raise the child as their own — deciding not to inform the authorities of the child’s existence.

Available At


20. Warcross

Warcross Top 25 Amazing Books Like Ready Player One
Warcross

Warcross is absolutely amazing books like ready player one.

Warcross is more than just a game. It’s an industry. It’s a way of life. It’s unlimited access to the future.

This was a fun story about a girl who unexpectedly finds herself entered in a global gaming competition.

Available At



Frequently Asked Question

How many Ready Player One books are there?

The Ready Player One book series by Ernest Cline includes books Ready Player One and Ready Player Two.


Is there a sequel to Ready Player One book?

Ready Player Two is an upcoming 2020 science fiction novel by American author Ernest Cline, and is the sequel to his 2011 debut novel Ready Player One.

Is Ready Player One a good book?

Ready Player One is a well-told, richly realized, and incredibly satisfying adventure, one populated by appealing characters. There’s even a sweet love story. … It’s another character who drops the startling reveal. “Unputdownable” isn’t a real word, yet it’s the perfect adjective for this book.